Yoga – Eight folds (Ashtanga) , Asanas , Meditation , Benefits , Videos


“Yog Kriya by Priya”

Namaste🙏… Hi everyone

Priya Mohane is welcoming you all to read about yoga on rddu entertainment . Here I am going to tell you about yoga. Daily I’ll post a new pose with its description. How to do it? What are the benefits of doing yoga? Before posting details of Yogasans, I’ll tell you something in detail about Yoga, which you may not knew before. Please read it carefully and understand the meaning of Yoga.

One more thing friends, every type of exercise has it’s own importants but so many people think that yoga is very slow and boring. But practicing these slow yoga poses make our body flexible and prepares it to do hard poses. And yoga is the only exercise which connects our mind and soul with our body.

What is Yoga?

Yoga is derived from Sanskrit word yuj. The word “yoga” – from the Sanskrit root yuj (“to yoke”) – is generally translated as “union of the individual atma (loosely translated to mean soul) with Paramatma, the universal soul.” This may be understood as union with the Divine by integration of body, mind, and spirit.

Yoga also refers to an inner science comprising of a variety of methods through which human beings can achieve union between the body and mind to attain self-realisation. The aim of Yoga practice is to overcome all kinds of sufferings that lead to a sense of freedom in every walk of life with holistic health, happiness and harmony.

Eight folds of Yoga

In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs” (ashta=eight, anga=limb). These eight steps basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. It’s not only the yoga poses which make us fit, but more 7 points are there to know. These yoga sutra teach us how to live successful life. It helps us to stay positive and fight with stress, tiredness, diseases and keep our mind, our body fit and also lead us to do good “Karma”. Let’s just go through these eight folds of yoga before learning Yogasans (poses) .

Yamas – (Ethical & Social Restraints)

Ahimsa – (Non-injury, NonHarming and Non- Violence) we must not cause injury or pain to another being in our thoughts, words and deeds.

Satya – (Truthfulness)

Asteya – (Non- stealing)

Bramacharya – (sense control, chastity, moderation, appropriate sexual behavior or celibacy).

Aparigraha – (non-greed or non-hoarding)

Niyama – (Moral & Personal Observance)

Saucha – (Cleanliness)

Santosha -(Contentment)

Tapas – (Austerities)

Svadhyaya – (Self- Study) *yogic text

Ishvarapranidhana – (Surrender to a Divine source)

Asana – (Postures or seat, a firm positioning of the body connected to the earth)

Pranayama – (Control of life force generally through awareness of breathing)

Pratyahara – (Withdrawal of senses, non-attachment)

Dharana – (Concentration)

Dhyana – (Meditation)

Samadhi – (Bliss, absorption into the higher realms of consciousness)

So, out of these eight folds you must have understood “Yamas” and “Niyamas”. What I’ll going to teach is “Asans” and ” Pranayam”.

So let’s talk about Yoga poses now… There are three level of Yogasanas. It has been divided in three levels because we can’t do hard poses (advanced level yoga poses) directly. To reach to those advanced level yogasanas, we must learn how to do basic yoga. Because every hard pose is begin with the basic pose only. Likewise, we study basics in lower classes in school and then learn things in more detail and finally after understanding things more deeply,  we take entry in advanced course. The three level of yogasanasa are:-

  • Beginners yoga,

  • Intermediate yoga, and

  • Advanced yoga.

1) Beginners yoga – beginners yoga is for the new comers. It’s the complete series of basic yoga. When you start doing yogasan either first time ever in your life or you are doing it after taking gap of few months or years in your yoga practice, it is best to begin your practice with “begginers yoga”. It includes all easy yoga poses, which helps in opening the locks of our body parts and make our body flexible. Practicing it daily will help you to reach the next level of yogasanas. Some of the beginners yogas are easy pose, child pose, mountain pose, downward dog, dolphin pose, bridge pose, etc…

2) Intermediate yogasanas – Intermediate yoga can be started after practicing beginners yoga in such a way, that you are it’s master. Performing intermediate yogasans needs a lot of practice and proper guidelines. You may need helper while performing intermediate yogasans, because it’s tougher than beginners yoga, but as I described it before, the intermediate and advanced yoga practice needs you to learn beginners yoga. Some of the intermediate yoga poses are crow/crane pose, dancing lord pose, head stand, hand stand, Wheel pose, etc…

3) Advanced yogasanas – advanced level yogasanas needs a lot of practice, even more than Intermediate yogas. Do it only after you understand, learn and under the guidance of someone. Some of the advanced level yoga poses are Monkey pose, One leg forward bending lotus pose, etc..


Pranayam is breathing technique,which is again very important for health and mind. It cleans our lungs and mind, and helps us to hold our breath for long while performing yogasanas. It also creates flow of positive energy in us, because as we exhales breath after holding a deep inhale breath, we exhale negative vibes and inhales positive vibes.

There are so many different pranayams with it’s different benefits. Such as Bhastrika pranayam, anulom-vilom pranayam, kapalbhati pranayam, etc.

Please read my articles daily to learn yoga. In my articles ill right about how to perform the asanas, their benefits, caution.

You can also follow me on :-

Facebook page – “Yog Kriya by Priya”

Instagram – being_a_soul

And can also contact me via email on:- [email protected]

Article by

Actress Priya Mohane



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here